Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: what is the best digital EQ now?

1. Back To Top    #1

what is the best digital EQ now?

I am wanting to put together the SQ stereo I had always dreamed of now that I am leaning on 50 and can afford it. I have been collecting gear including an old 3 way (9-5-1) Phoenix Gold/morel components that I want to run active and I am wondering what is the best eq to run these, some rear fill and then of course some 12s(morel 12" Ultimo Ti's). What have you used and what did you like or dislike about it?

2. Back To Top    #2
    Real Name
    James
    Vehicle
    2016 Ram Lonestar

Re: what is the best digital EQ now?

First off, I'm no expert. I have minimal experience with processors, but here's my take. All processors have pros and cons. I use a PPI DSP-88R. It has basic xovers, decent eq, optical input and time alignment. It does not have any auto tune features. It also has a clunky interface. I have it because it did what I needed for a price I could manage.

My advice is figure out what you need (want), and your budget. Once you find your options, test drive the software. Most have demo versions. When you get it to 2 or 3 options, post up. Folks will be able to give you better advice with specific units.

FWIW I've heard great cars with many different processors.

good luck with your search

3. Back To Top    #3
    Real Name
    Jacob
    Vehicle
    2014 F150 Limited

Helix, jl, minidsp are usually the go to. Then arc, Dayton, alpine, etc are probably the next.
    2014 F150 Limited -> Kenwood DDX-9907xr -> Helix DSP.2 -> Alpine PDX-V9 -> SI M25 mki in Valicar Stuttgart Pods, Rear SB17's, Sub SI BM MKV's in MTI BOX. Alpine PDX-F6 -> SI Tm65 mkIV, SI M3 mkI in Valicar Stuttgart Pods

4. Back To Top    #4
    Real Name
    Nick
    Vehicle
    2005 Dodge Magnum R/T

You're still running that dinosaur...

5. Back To Top    #5

Quote Originally Posted by Jdunk54nl View Post