Thread: Mid range in the doors

1. Back To Top    #1

Mid range in the doors

Going to try underseat mid basses, but are mid ranges in the middle / lower doors a bad idea?

Don’t have time to fab anything for the FaitalPro mids so wondering if the door is still ok for them.

Would be playing 200-2k but if I could remove the tweeters and run 200 and up would be ideal.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. Back To Top    #2
    Real Name
    Daniel
    Vehicle
    We don't talk about it

Re: Mid range in the doors

Do have a way to still aim/angle them towards the listening position(s)?
    Are you not entertained?!?!

3. Back To Top    #3

I'm not an expert, just sharing personal opinion. But one other thing to consider with underseat midbasses is that you may need to cross them lower. With mine, I don't think I liked anything higher than 180hz (24db LR). At present I've settled on 165hz. Of course a different car with different speakers can yield different results, but I just thought I'd mention it.

I'm using 5.5" mids down low in doors (factory location). So I have to deal with the issues of off-axis beaming, lower midrange nulls due to the center console and tweeters being far away from the mids (factory a-pillar locations). But with DSP, I'm able to make it work fairly well.

To your last comment about wanting to remove the tweets and run full-ranges, I think they'd absolutely have to be 100% on-axis. Treble response on a larger speaker will drop-off quickly off-axis. For a 200hz or lower crossover point, those full-ranges would likely need to be 4-5 inchers.