Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Midrange or Midbass in Kicks vs Doors

1. Back To Top    #1

Midrange or Midbass in Kicks vs Doors

As much as I've deep-dived these threads for answers, I still have questions. I'm not a pro, I still have a lot to learn. I'm going to cross-post this on DIYMA just because I have a few ongoing conversations over there.

I'll start with a couple of assumptions so this doesn't get too far off topic.
    1. I'm assuming that the traditional method is Subwoofer behind you, mid-bass in well treated doors, and mid-range is somewhere else (dash, door, kick, etc).
    2. I'm limiting this to a "mid-bass" (60-90hz HPF - ~300hz LPF), and a "mid-range" (~300hz HPF meeting a tweeter or HLCD).
    3. We aren't worried about beaming, because we are crossing our mid-range below where it beams (lets just say something like 2000hz).
    4. I'm trying to limit this to speaker positions for mid-bass and mid-range - kicks and doors. Nothing on the dash.
    5. I'm assuming we have a well treated door, and I'm assuming we have a well made kick panel (few resonances, dampened, appropriately sized, etc)

I'll admit the fact that I'm using horns, so I don't have the same crossover issues (ie, high crossover) that Tweeters would normally have. I can cross my horns as low as 800hz. Partially as a result of this, beaming shouldn't (I'd like to stress the should) be an issue.