Thread: Tweeters, need to replace old school MB Quarts

1. Back To Top    #1
    Vehicle
    Nissan N16

Tweeters, need to replace old school MB Quarts

I've been running a pair of MB Quart RTC-19s for the past 5 years, and have been more than happy with them. They were run from 2 channels of an Audison LRX5.600 in a poor man's active 2-way setup, utilising the amp's integral crossover.

Turns out 1 of the tweeters has now failed, so I need to find a new pair. The Quarts were, I believe, titanium, and they had a sonic 'signature' I was happy with. Seems titanium is not so common nowadays, plus the Quarts have been obsolete for nearly 2 decades, so ideally I would like to find a similar replacement.

I appreciate that opinions are subjective, but:

if anyone has experience with the old school MB Q's and can advise/offer any recommendations for a suitable replacement, I would be most grateful

Or

What are known to be good, solid tweeters nowadays?

Budget: £50-100/$70-130

Caveat : Ideally would like to purchase from a UK/EU retailer, to a avoid any unnecessary complications.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Tweeters, need to replace old school MB Quarts

How big do you need? Small format? What size roughly are the quarts on the outside or are you going to rebuild? I ask as im in notts area and have some brand new sb acoustics rdnc which are 72mm diameter that haven’t been used and are brand new in their boxes, I also have a set of ground zero nuclear 22mm tweeters that are brand new unused also, just bought to try in a hole they didn’t fit in drop me a pm if interested

3. Back To Top    #3

These would match the quarts in sound.

https://www.madisoundspeakerstore.co...e-car-tweeter/
    2018 Crosstrek Helix P-Six DSP Mk2 AF GB15 AF GB25 AF GS690 Audiomobile Evo 8(2) PPI Art Series A600.2

4. Back To Top    #4
    Vehicle
    Nissan N16

Thank you for the replies,