Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: System "Hiss"

1. Back To Top    #1

System "Hiss"

Hello,
    FINALLY finishing my install in a 2017 Ford F-150. I am using the factory 8" Sync 3 source. I have Dynaudio tweeters in the A-pillars and E650's in the doors. I'm doing 2 way active. Front stage is run off a Mosconi AS 200.4 and subs are 2 Stereo Integrity BM MK V's run off a Helix SPXL 1000 all run through a Helix DSP Pro. I noticed hiss when nothing is playing. I turned the gains way down on the Mosconi to get rid of it. Then I noticed the system gains in the Helix software were set quite high. This is my first time using a DSP so I am still learning. I turned the gains down to -25db in the software. I could then turn up the gains on my amp some...... but i still have them below probably 30% and that is with the Helix system gains set at -25db. If I unplug the rca's from the Mosconi I can turn the gains all the way up and no noise. When I plug the DSP back in to the Mosconi the noise returns. If I unplug the high level inputs from the DSP the noise is still there. So I am assuming the noise is being introduced from the DSP. Am I missing something? Is there something software related I need to change? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: System "Hiss"

When you turned down the gain on the Helix did the hiss get quieter or stay the same? I'm not familiar with the Helix but does it have an input and output level adjustment? If so did you try lowering both?

3. Back To Top    #3

It got quieter when I lowered the gain in the software. As far as I know there is only the gains for the independent channels in the software. I could be wrong though.....

4. Back To Top    #4

Then keep lowering it in the software until the noise is an acceptable level. Don't worry where the gain is on your amps or anything else, all you need to be concerned with is finding the combination with the lowest noise while still reaching your desired output level.