Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Followed the crowd from a sinking ship

1. Back To Top    #1

Followed the crowd from a sinking ship

Hey folks. I'm looking to find a comfortable seat in the corner somewhere.

I'm a hobbyist in my mid 40's. Been putting some kind of sound upgrades in my vehicles since 15. They get better every time. I like to self teach and do it myself. I'm not that connected with you other folks as I'm not overly social, but I recognize some names from some places in our nerd world. Being located in the far lands of nowhere special mid america, I don't have many peers in this sport either. None at my level of interest at least. Whatever I do is to impress myself. No competition. I can't say I've heard an award winning car stereo in a looonngg time. My attention to car stereo was born in the 90's in my high school days. When it was all about the bass... And maybe some chicks and weed. Circuit City Jenson bass, Pyramid Crossovers, and hand me downs. Though even back then I had more of a focus of balanced sound, and not just Boom Tiss. I honestly don't keep my finger on the pulse of this industry. I surface every few years when I get a new car. Do an upgrade, get content, drop out, and repeat.

I'm not rich. I'm comfortable. I have priorities. I do what I can. My profession is Quality Control in a factory setting.

I'm fairly new to a full active system and dedicated processors. I got my foot in the door some months ago with the Dayton 408. Recently upgrading to a Helix DSP.2. I'm currently in and out of REW sessions and a UMI-1.