Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 2011 Cadillac CTS-V Coupe build

1. Back To Top    #1

2011 Cadillac CTS-V Coupe build

Hello all. New to this forum, heard about it on DIYMA.

I’m just getting started on upgrading the audio system in my 2011 CTS-V.

I have recently installed the Metra dash kit and a Kenwood Excelon DMX906S. It seems like a really nice HU so far. The Metra kit has a GM CANBUS interface that allows the HU to integrate with the rest of the system.

I’m still running through the Bose amp for now. If I gut the Bose amp, I lose chimes, backup warning beeps, OnStar, turn signal clicks, etc, which I don’t want to do.

I have run an RCA cable from the Kenwood’s sub-outs to the trunk, and I have a JL Audio ACP112LG-TW1 MicroSub+ 12" powered subwoofer waiting to be installed in the spare tire well. By running the sub off of the Kenwood’s sub outputs, I can avoid the Bose amps annoying EQ programming of reducing the bass output as the volume is turned up.

I know I have a ton of sound deadening to do, especially trunk and doors.

I have a set of Dynaudio MW182’s on order (thanks SkizeR!) as a near drop in replacement for the Bose mid bass drivers in my front doors. I’m seriously doubting that the Bose amp is going to have enough power to drive them anywhere near what they’ll need.

I’m wondering about using a Rockford Fosgate compact 200 watts x 2 channel amp, driven by the Bose amp’s front door speaker outputs, to up the power to where it needs to be for the Dyns. I’m thinking I can keep things balanced by adjusting the gain setting appropriately on the Rockford Fosgate amp, on the JL sub, and with the Kenwood’s output tuning and EQ.

I know this is nowhere near a full on DSP processor based SQ system, but it would retain the stock amp’s features that I don’t want to lose, and hopefully sound way better than the fully stock Bose amps and speakers.