Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: LEVLHED's 2013 Ford Flex SEL (non Sony) audio build :)

1. Back To Top    #1
    Vehicle
    2013 Ford Flex SEL

LEVLHED's 2013 Ford Flex SEL (non Sony) audio build :)

Yes, inspired by Lanson's......

It would have been cool if I started this thread weeks ago when I started my upgrade, but oh well....I will post up some pics and explain what I did over the course of the next few days-ish.

for now

I (finally) got a new vehicle and decided to upgrade the sound in it. It ended up being a significant upgrade and project. My goals were to keep the factory deck with Sync intact to maintain all of the functionality and to keep the whole install as "stock" looking as reasonable. Also, I was unable/unwilling to give up cargo space for a traditional sub box. I work as a mobile wedding dj and need all of the available space for hauling my equipment (it just barely fits with all the seats down!)

I was leaning more towards the SQ side of the spectrum vs. SPL.....not after a competition level system, but I was looking for a significant upgrade over the existing non-Sony "premium" system.

My first instinct was to DIY the whole thing, but the realities of my schedule, questionable skills, and dismal tool selection made that not really viable.

After shopping around the local "pro" car audio shops (all two of them) I ended up getting hooked up with a friend of a friend who works out of his garage. This ended up being exactly the dude I was looking for! He does excellent work (no shortcuts) and since he's not a equipment dealer/etc he was A-OK with installing what ever I wanted/bought on my own. The "pro" shops all wanted me to buy what they were selling, at full retail price no less...screw that! I'm not really a "retail" kinda guy. hah

I did a lot of research and came up with a system I wanted that met my design goals. Then set out to find deals on all the equipment.