Thread: The Crushinator 2015

1. Back To Top    #1
    Vehicle
    2006 Pontiac GTO

The Crushinator 2015

As many of you know, I attend Lawrence Tech and I'm studying mechanical engineering. One of my classes is called Fundamentals of Engineering Design. Let me tell you, for a one credit hour course, this class keeps me way too damned busy. Any who, one of our projects was to build a pop can crusher. We were limited on size and had several required features. The cans had to enter the apparatus horizontally and travel 36" inches, then change orientation and drop vertically 20" and fall into the crusher. The crusher could not be larger than 36" by 36". Once the can was crushed it had to exit the crusher and land on a conveyor belt, and the conveyor belt had to carry the can away from the crusher and into a bag or trash can. Oh and the can had to be rushed to a minimum of one and one half inches. The conveyor belt had to be motorized, and we were limited to 12 volts. Every group came up with something different, but we (as in my group) managed to shock and amazed every one. Now our original intent was to have the crusher and the conveyor belt motorized, but we ran into a snag the night before the project was due. We couldn't get our motor (a DeWalt drill) to keep tension on the chain we had and we really didn't have enough time to build a box that would hold it in place. Of course this made me a sad panda, but the project still turned out very well. In fact, the Crushinator will be on display at school until the end of the semester.
    Here are some pictures from the build:
    Trying to build a box that would hold the drill in place (clamps were our friend):

This is how the crusher would have looked if we had gotten the drill to stay in place:

Some vinyl work:

The finished project:

I forgot to get a photo of the box we built that holds a six pack of cans. I'll get one when we set it up for display next week.