Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: JL HD 900/5 issues setting gains

1. Back To Top    #1
    Vehicle
    2017 Subaru WRX

JL HD 900/5 issues setting gains

So I tore back out my seat to make sure the gains were set properly.

I followed the JL manual procedure for setting the gains, specifically
    pull out the speaker connections,
    use a multimeter on vAC and adjust while playing sine wave on cd,
    adjust gains at 3/4 volume to 20v

The highest it would go is 17v

Now it distorts bad at half volume. Looking, the current speakers are only 60w RMS, so the distortion is understandable.

BUT, WHY will gains not go to 20v measured by DMM?

I Do have a pair of Hertz I need to wire in this weekend, 80w RMS, so more there, but I'm not understanding why my amp isn't measuring up.

The subwoofer connection measured fine, at about the middle it was the 44.7 it called for, why not the front and rear?

Thanks for any input, even the obvious "that's not right", because I'm a noob and half sure I'm just somehow flubbing it lol

--alex

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: JL HD 900/5 issues setting gains

What are you sending it a signal from? Is your input sensitivity switch in the right orientation?

3. Back To Top    #3

what's the input voltage switch set to? high or low? make sure that's the correct setting for your headunit's signal.

Page 9 of the manual:
    http://media.datatail.com/docs/manual/119738_en.pdf

4. Back To Top    #4
    Vehicle
    2017 Subaru WRX

I have it set to low and am running low power from the Pioneer avh-5800 HU

5. Back To Top    #5
    Vehicle
    2017 Subaru WRX

Even with ohms law this makes no sense, 100watts RMS x 4ohm load = 400, sqroot of that is 20, so manual's correct.

I tried it with multiple sources, finally burning off the test tones from ummm the online site everyone kept referencing. It's Not -20db or anything, 0db.

Plus it IS going to 17, at "high" with a "low" input it would be a lot further off than that wouldn't it?